What Sell Law Firm Data to AI measures
5 datasets, put together from the sources' own pages and refreshed on a set cycle; last read 2026-10-28.
| Dataset | Headline figure | Sources | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who has bought UK law firms, from their own announcements | 3 deals | 3 of read | 2026-10-28 |
| Client information, AI, software providers and law firm ownership | 7 provisions | 7 of read | 2026-10-28 |
| Who says it takes a law firm's records | 4 of 6 buyers and marketplaces | 6 of read | 2026-10-27 |
| Lawfirm Records Retention | 36 to 36 month | 2 of 8 read | 2026-10-28 |
| Law firm software data terms | 2 of 6 vendors | 6 of read | 2026-10-08 |
The method
Each dataset begins with a written question and a list of the pages that might answer it. We read those pages and keep the sentence that states the figure word for word, together with its link and the date.
Each candidate sentence passes through review, and any rejection carries a written reason. The median and range count one figure per source, one per breakdown where a source gives several. Sources without a figure are marked rather than guessed, and regular re-reads track what moves.
Who has bought UK law firms, from their own announcements
3 UK law firm acquisitions, each quoted from the buyer's or the firm's own announcement, read 28 October 2026.
What kind of buyer it says it is, by deal: an investor-backed group of regional firms 1 of 3, not stated 1 of 3, a software platform buying a law firm 1 of 3 (3 deals, read 28 October 2026).
Client information, AI, software providers and law firm ownership
7 provisions of the SRA's rules, UK data protection, legal services and copyright law on client information, AI training, software providers, who may own a firm and staff work, each quoted from the regulator's or the law's own page, read 28 October 2026.
Whose rule it is, by provision: the Solicitors Regulation Authority 4 of 7, an Act of Parliament 2 of 7, the UK GDPR 1 of 7 (7 provisions, read 28 October 2026).
Who says it takes a law firm's records
4 of 6 buyers and marketplaces whose own pages we read name legal documents or legal services among the data they take, each answer quoted, read 27 October 2026.
Names legal work, by buyer or marketplace: names legal documents or legal services among what it takes 4 of 6, takes company records, legal work not named 2 of 6 (6 buyers and marketplaces, read 27 October 2026).
Lawfirm Records Retention
The Lawfirm Records Retention carries 1 published figure read from 1 source's own page, from 36 to 36 month, read 24 October 2026.
Of 8 named sources read in full, 2 publish a figure and 6 do not, read 24 October 2026.
Law firm software data terms
2 of 6 law firm software vendors whose terms we read reserve the right to use their customers' data in aggregated or anonymised form, read 8 October 2026.
Who owns the business's data, by vendor: the business 5 of 6, not stated 1 of 6 (law firm software terms, read 8 October 2026).