Who buys law firms UK (3 figures)
3 UK law firm acquisitions, each quoted from the buyer's or the firm's own announcement, read 28 October 2026.
What kind of buyer it says it is
What it bought, in its own words
The price
How every deal answered
Every row is a single deal, and every answer expands to the wording it was taken from, the announcement it came from and when it was read. "Not stated" is used when the announcement says nothing on the point.
| Deal | What kind of buyer it says it is | What it bought, in its own words | The price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carta, buying Avantia Law | a software platform buying a law firm | I’m so excited to announce that Carta has acquired Avantia Law!!! | not statedNot addressed in Carta, introducing Carta Law (fka Avantia Law) |
| Knights, buying Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth | not statedNot addressed in Knights, acquisition of Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth business | The acquisition will bring more than 160 legal professionals to Knights, significantly… | not statedNot addressed in Knights, acquisition of Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth business |
| Lawfront Group, joined by Field Seymour Parkes | an investor-backed group of regional firms | Field Seymour Parkes is a Reading-based law firm generating approximately £15m in annual… | not statedNot addressed in Field Seymour Parkes joins the Lawfront Group |
Where each answer was read (9)
- Carta, buying Avantia Law, Carta, introducing Carta Law (fka Avantia Law), read 2026-10-28, What kind of buyer it says it is:
One of the reasons I’m excited about Carta Law is the connection it offers with everything we’ve built for the ERP for private capital.
- Carta, buying Avantia Law, Carta, introducing Carta Law (fka Avantia Law), read 2026-10-28, What it bought, in its own words:
I’m so excited to announce that Carta has acquired Avantia Law!!!
- Carta, buying Avantia Law, Carta, introducing Carta Law (fka Avantia Law), read 2026-10-28, The price: Nothing on this announcement answers it (8,035 characters of announcement text, read 2026-10-28).
- Knights, buying Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth, Knights, acquisition of Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth business, read 2026-10-28, What kind of buyer it says it is: Nothing on this announcement answers it (5,323 characters of announcement text, read 2026-10-28).
- Knights, buying Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth, Knights, acquisition of Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth business, read 2026-10-28, What it bought, in its own words:
The acquisition will bring more than 160 legal professionals to Knights, significantly enhancing its capability across a number of key markets and areas of expertise.
- Knights, buying Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth, Knights, acquisition of Moore Barlow commercial and private wealth business, read 2026-10-28, The price: Nothing on this announcement answers it (5,323 characters of announcement text, read 2026-10-28).
- Lawfront Group, joined by Field Seymour Parkes, Field Seymour Parkes joins the Lawfront Group, read 2026-10-28, What kind of buyer it says it is:
Backed by private equity fund Blixt, its vision is to build a high quality, national business
- Lawfront Group, joined by Field Seymour Parkes, Field Seymour Parkes joins the Lawfront Group, read 2026-10-28, What it bought, in its own words:
Field Seymour Parkes is a Reading-based law firm generating approximately £15m in annual revenues. With 85 qualified professionals including 8 equity partners
- Lawfront Group, joined by Field Seymour Parkes, Field Seymour Parkes joins the Lawfront Group, read 2026-10-28, The price: Nothing on this announcement answers it (7,760 characters of announcement text, read 2026-10-28).
Method
Each deal's own the buyers' and the acquired firms' own announcements were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row).
For every announcement, three questions were answered from its own words: what kind of buyer it says it is, what it bought, in its own words, the price.
Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the announcement read does not address the question.
A deal with several announcements reads 'varies' where they disagree.
3 deals, 3 announcements.
2 named documents are still to be read and are not counted yet.
5 sources, with links
- Carta, introducing Carta Law (fka Avantia Law) (the publisher's the buyers' and the acquired firms' own announcements, cited for reporting)
- Knights, acquisition of Moore Barlow's commercial and private wealth business (the publisher's the buyers' and the acquired firms' own announcements, cited for reporting)
- Field Seymour Parkes joins the Lawfront Group (the publisher's the buyers' and the acquired firms' own announcements, cited for reporting)
- Clio, agreement to acquire vLex (not yet read)
- Clio, completes the vLex acquisition (not yet read)
Cite it or embed it
3 UK law firm acquisitions, each quoted from the buyer's or the firm's own announcement, read 28 October 2026.
What kind of buyer it says it is, by deal: an investor-backed group of regional firms 1 of 3, not stated 1 of 3, a software platform buying a law firm 1 of 3 (3 deals, read 28 October 2026).
What it bought, in its own words, by deal: stated 3 of 3 (3 deals, read 28 October 2026).
The price, by deal: not stated 3 of 3 (3 deals, read 28 October 2026).
Reference: "Who has bought UK law firms, from their own announcements", updated 2026-10-28, https://selllawfirmdatatoai.com/datasets/lawfirm-acquirers/.
CSV download (9 answers, worked out 2026-10-28)